HomeCommunityLocal volunteers recognised at SES awards

Local volunteers recognised at SES awards

SES volunteer awards
Annette Farrar was presented Unit Member of the Year at the SES awards.

Local SES volunteers, including Annette Farrar, were celebrated at the Bundaberg Regional Unit State Emergency Service Annual awards dinner last weekend.

The event acknowledged the dedication and devotion of volunteers to training and SES duties, assisting the local community in their needs.

It also recognised their commitment to helping other members within the Bundaberg Regional SES unit.

Annette Farrar was presented Unit Member of the Year and said it was an honour to receive the award.

“Our awards are all peer voted so it gave the members an opportunity to celebrate their fellow volunteers,” Annette said.

“It was such an honour to receive this award and I am really grateful for all the many different opportunities provided by the SES.

“I’ve been with the Elliot Heads group for four years and am currently the Deputy Group Leader.”

Annette said while being a volunteer with the SES was very different from her nine to five job, it was extremely rewarding.

“Being a volunteer with the SES gives people an ability to learn and develop new skills,” she said.

“We practice our existing competencies and skills and get a chance to meet likeminded people from across the region with that volunteerism spirit.

“Since I have joined the SES I have been able to achieve things I never thought were possible.

“I have been able to work with flood boats and I have also just competed the level one swift water rescue training.

“There are so many things that are different from my nine to five job, and it is challenging but very rewarding.”

The full list of awardees includes:

Group Member Awards:

  • Woodgate: Ray Price accepted by Ken Willick
  • Moore Park: Peter Dowden
  • Bargara: David Hints
  • Elliott Heads: Cody Mather

Group Member Awards:

  • Childers: Matt Rayner
  • Bundaberg: Melissa Linwood
  • Gin Gin: Dean Hanrahan

Group of the year: Bundaberg accepted by Bundaberg Group Leader Mel Linwood

High Risk Operator: Sharyn Kilby

Trainer of the Year: Cory Pignatelli

Probationary Member of the Year: Stephanie Martin

Inspirational Leader of the Year: Ruth Foster

Accident Prone Award: Ray Forman

Unit Member of the Year: Annette Farrar

Other stories: Reef Guardian Councils taking climate action

Latest news

Recent Comments