HomeSportStars named in Bundy Bulls Masters team

Stars named in Bundy Bulls Masters team

Bulls Masters cricket tour
Bulls Masters batsman and former Queensland captain Jimmy Maher, Mayor Jack Dempsey and Bundaberg Cricket Association treasurer Shaun Rose , pictured during the Bulls' 2019 visit.

The Bulls Masters are sending a star-studded line-up to contest the annual Twenty20 cricket clash with the Bundaberg Invitational XI at Salter Oval on February 27.

Included in the line up are former Australian representatives Andrew Symonds, Jimmy Maher, Michael Kasprowicz, Ryan Harris, and Adam Dale, along with Bulls stalwarts former skipper Chris Simpson, Lee Carseldine, Luke Feldman, and Nathan Reardon.

Also tagging along with the team for the visit are former Australian cricket stars Ian Healy, Allan Border and Darren Lehmann.

Bundaberg Regional Council Mayor Jack Dempsey said the Bulls Masters visit was always a highlight of the region’s sporting and social calendar.

“Such has been the success of past visits that Council entered into a three-year partnership last year to bring the Bulls Masters back to Bundaberg this year, and again next year and in 2023,” Mayor Dempsey said.

“The Bulls are up here to enjoy a fun game, but their skills are still evident, and they are great to watch in action.

“However, they have an even greater impact with their junior coaching clinics and meet and greet sessions which are a real inspiration to the next generation of cricketers emerging within the Bundaberg Region.”

“The Bulls Masters have donated $110,000 to Bundaberg cricket associations, clubs and schools over the three years we have already hosted the event, and their visits provide a great boost for local cricket and the wider community.”

The Salter Oval gates open at 12.30pm with a Twenty20 match between Bundaberg Masters and Bundaberg Youth Invitational XI to get under way at 1.30pm.

Bulls Masters players will conduct a free kids’ super clinic from 4.30pm to 5.30pm before taking to the field against the Bundaberg Invitational XI at 6.30pm.

The Bulls will also donate $1500 worth of sporting gear to one of the six Bundaberg junior cricket clubs, with the lucky club to be randomly selected, and to the school with the most students in attendance on the night.

Students can nominate their school at the gate and the recipients of both sets of gear will be announced at the end of the main game.

Tickets are just $5 each for adults with admission free for children under the age of 16. Funds raised will go to the Bundaberg Cricket Association.

The matches will be preceded by the Bundaberg Survivor Dinner at the Bundaberg Multiplex Sport and Convention Centre on February 26 from 6pm-10pm.

Former Miss Universe Australia Kimberley Busteed, who is married to Simpson, is MC for the event which will feature guest speakers Lehmann, Symonds, Healy, Border and Carseldine and comedian Darren Carr.

Tickets for the event, which includes two-course dinner, beer, wine, spirits, and soft drink, are $140 per person and can be booked as tables of 10, half tables of five or individually.

To purchase tickets phone Susie at Bulls Masters on 0405 810 973 or email her at or email Bundaberg Cricket Association treasurer Shaun Rose at

The Bulls Masters visit is supported by Bundaberg Regional Council, Bundaberg Toyota, Ulton and Triple M.

Teams for the match between Bulls Masters and Bundaberg Invitational XI at Salter Oval at 6.30pm and Bundaberg Youth Invitational XI team to play Bundaberg Masters at 1.30pm:

Bulls Masters: Andrew Symonds, Jimmy Maher, Chris Simpson, Lee Carseldine, Michael Kasprowicz, Gavin Fitness, Adam Dale, Ryan Harris, Luke Feldman, Ken Healy, Nathan Reardon, Charlie Hemphrey.

Bundaberg Invitational XI: Adam Pozzebon, Michael Loader, Brendan Grills, Tim McIntosh, Chris Napper, Matt Jackson, Arden Lankowski, Dale Steele, Chris Duff, Mitch Waters, Nathan Van Eekeren, Dean Krebs, Ben Davey.

Bundaberg Youth Invitational XI: Dylan Heycox (c), Samuel Cavanagh, Jackson Rehbein, Jack Rae, Dustin Collin, Matthew Parker, Logan Woodward, Nathan Finlay, Karan Singh, Oliver Mathiesen, Joel Faint, Taylor Stumer.