HomeNewsHealthDiverse experience to enrich WBHHS Board

Diverse experience to enrich WBHHS Board

new level 5 hospital
The Wide Bay Hospital and Health Board has appointed three new members.

A health information expert, a media and communications specialist and a senior corporate executive have been appointed to the Wide Bay Hospital and Health Board.

Kathryn Campbell, Karla Steen and Craig Hodges are the newest members of the nine-person board.

Current Chair Peta Jamieson and members Simone Xouris and Trevor Dixon have been reappointed.

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services Yvette D’Ath said the three new appointees had a strong record in leading organisations.

“I’d like to welcome them to the Wide Bay Hospital and Health Board,” Minister D’Ath said.

“All are civic-minded professionals with a genuine interest in representing the interests of their region.

“Ms Campbell has extensive experience in healthcare, specialising in information technology projects. She holds positions on the boards of Uniting AgeWell, Brisbane North Primary Health Network, and the Australasian Institute of Digital Health, of which she is the inaugural chair.

“Ms Steen has had a diverse career in communications and media, having worked for Queensland Government ministers and organisations including Powerlink Queensland, ABC, economic development agencies and her own consultancy. She has also previously served as a member on the Mackay Hospital and Health Board.

“An accountant by profession, Mr Hodges has had a diverse career with roles including CEO and Chief Operating Officer. His experience on boards and committees spans 20 years and includes chairing the Wide Bay-Burnett Regional Electricity Council and the University of Queensland Rural Clinical School’s Advisory Committee.

“We’re fortunate to have members of their calibre. I know that all three will work hard to ensure Wide Bay residents continue to receive excellent health services.”

Wide Bay Hospital and Health Board’s members are:

  • Ms Peta Jamieson (Chair)
  • Mr Craig Hodges
  • Ms Kathryn Campbell
  • Ms Karla Steen
  • Ms Simone Xouris
  • Mr Trevor Dixon
  • Mr Leon Nehow
  • Dr Sandra Rattenbury
  • Ms Karen Prentis

The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health service and the delivery of public health services within their communities.