HomeSportLife membership awarded to long-serving touch players

Life membership awarded to long-serving touch players

touch football
Brothers Social Touch Football Life Membership award recipients.

Brothers Social Touch Football presented their first Certificates of Life Membership to six long-serving champions at their Winter Season Presentation Night.

Awards were received by Geoff Kirkman, Greg Messenger, Janine Gordon, Mike Hochen, Shane Cavanough and Stewart Greggor, while Eddie Whitworth, who tragically passed away a few years ago, received a posthumous award.

On the field, Beau Pratt was a star of the grand finals, featuring in two premierships, bagging a hat-trick of tries to spearhead Greg Whalley Dental to a 7-0 whitewash of Untouchables in the Open Men’s Division, and also touching down as McColms went one better than last season, claiming the Mixed Division A title with a 3-1 dispatch of Bundy Outdoors, last season’s Mixed Division B1 champions.

touch football
Open Men’s premiers Greg Whalley Dental – Nick Toovey, Kelly Ryan, Adam Lucke, Dion Fatiaki, Steve Richards, Ben Tobin and Beau Pratt.

Get Em On Side, who were beaten by Bundy Outdoors in the Summer Grand Finals in November, took out Mixed Division A2 honours with Klint Beer running amok with five tries in a 6-1 demolition of Furniture Court.

Marineland made it back-to-back titles, edging out Misfits 4-3 in Mixed Division A3, with Australian Under-19 Champion Lifesaver Ky Woods notching a double.

Foundation team LLE Tats Rats reclaimed the Over 35’s Division 1 crown, pipping reigning premiers McHugh Steel 3-2, while McDonald Murphy successfully defended the Over 35’s Division 2 title with Darren Saunders and Dean Leggett each notching doubles as they repelled Outlaws 6-0.  

James Walker was a popular winner of the Referee of the Year award.

The Sign-on for the next BST season will be next Monday 12th July, with the first games on 26th July. For more information, go to Brothers Social Touch Facebook.

touch football
Mixed Division A champions McColms – (back) Jess Heaslip, David Andreoli, Jarrod Wessel, Kelvin Pimm, Beau Pratt; (front) Deyarn Williams, Kathy Foley, Katie White and Rosie Pimm.

Grand final results:

Open Men: Greg Walley Dental 7 (Beau Pratt 3, Steve Richards, Ben Tobin, Dion Fatiaki, Adam Lucke) d Untouchables 0

Mixed A: McColms 3 (Beau Pratt, David Andreoli, Jarrod Wessel) d Bundy Outdoors 1 (Shannon Sundblom)

Mixed A2: Get Em On Side 6 (Klint Beer 5, Eli Sergiacomi) d Furniture Court 1 (Joel Goelby)

Mixed A3: Marineland 4 (Ky Woods 2, Wayne Wooldridge, Andrew McCracken) d Misfits 3 (Maria Curtis, Scott Gaze, Colin Curtis)

Mixed B1: Old and New 3 (Zachary Hansen, Kelly Taylor, Daniel Teefy) d Active Skip Bins 2 (Shannon Newton 2)

Mixed B2: Pitch Perfect 5 (Adam Baxter 2, Tayla McDonnell, Damien Turner, Jasmin Hall) d Nut Jobs 0

Over 35s-1: LLE Tats Rats 3 (David Batt, Dave Warner, Aaron Kemps) d McHugh Steel 2 (Anthony Aplin, Kelly Ryan)

Over 35s-2: McDonald Murphy 6 (Darren Saunders 2, Dean Leggett 2, Mark Vincent, Phil Larsen) d Outlaws 0.

touch football
LLE Tatts Rats line up after their Over 35 Division 1 grand final victory – (back) Ewen Holzberger, Joe O’Driscoll, Aaron Kemps, Dave Warner; (front) John Watson, David Batt and Brendan Cunningham.