HomeSportElliott Heads SLSC recognise fantastic achievements

Elliott Heads SLSC recognise fantastic achievements

Elliott Heads SLSC
U15 Club Champions Caiden Everingham (R) and Rohan McDonald (L) receiving their award from Cr Tanya McLoughlin

Elliott Heads Surf Life Saving Club has recognised the achievements of its members over the last season at their annual awards night.

Elliott Heads patrol team members completed over 2800 volunteer hours on patrol during the season with an average of 43 hours per member.

Olivia Warmington achieved the highest hours on patrol by an individual member during the season, with just over 113 hours in total.

The clubs patrol statistics show more than 23,000 attendances at the beach over the course of the season with lifesavers attending one rescue, 11 first aid incidents and undertaking over 1700 preventative actions to keep beach goers safe.

Elliott Heads SLSC Secretary Marie Harvey said the club has seen great success over the past season, with both the club and individual members being presented with awards acknowledging their efforts.

“Not only have we had a successful nipper season but also an unprecedented season across surf sport competitions with the club winning for the first time the P&D Burns Beach Trophy, the Bob Holden U8-U10 Championship Shield and the Shirley Holden & Archie Lowe Aggregate Points Shield – Wide Bay Capricorn Junior Branch Championships,” she said.

“Some of our nippers also went on to Junior State Championships at North Kirra in March with Kobi Holden winning Gold in the U14 male board race and U14 male ironman, which was amazing, and many others also doing really well by making it to finals.

“This is a testament to the strength of our club and the hours of fun and training we provide for the nipper program and was a dream come true for many.”

Elliott Heads SLSC
Marty Giles receiving the Club Member of the Year Award (John Barlow Medal) presented by Paul Barlow

A range of awards were presented at the annual dinner including Surf Life Saving Queensland awards for members who have completed 100+ hours patrolling the beach and SLSA National Patrol awards for members who have reached milestones in patrolling such a 5, 10, 15 years and beyond.

This year marked 35 years of service for Craig Holden and 30 years for Scott Collins, David Merefield and Kristine Holden.

Marie said the club is looking forward to another season of great results.

“We look forward to seeing the club continue to prosper and grow and be able to continue to make improvements to our program and hopefully back up our great results from the last season,” she said.

“Elliott Heads continues to be a great family friendly club with great people.”

To be part of the Elliott Heads Surf Life Saving Club, you can head down on any Sunday during the nipper season and speak with the Registrar or Secretary at the Club about how to join or alternatively keep an eye on updates on the website.

There are sign on days at the start of the season with the club happy to help newcomers through the sign up process or alternatively sign up can be completed online.

The full list of club awards included:

U15 Club Champion Male (shared) – Caiden Everingham and Rohan McDonald
U17 Club Champion – Lachlan Barrett
U19 Club Champion Male & Female – Aedan Leslie, Sarah Nash
U14 Lifesaver of the year – Georgie Stephenson
U18 Lifesaver of the year – Olivia Keech
U21 Lifesaver of the year – Lachlan Barrett
Open Female Club Champion – Sally Watson
Open Male Club Champion – Sam Bull
Masters Female Club Champion – Kylie Giles
Masters Male Club Champion – Brian Carroll
Cadet Achievement Award – Olivia Warmington
Patrol Member of the Year – Male – Alex Keech
Patrol Member of the Year – Female – Ashleigh Powell
Club Member of the Year Award (John Barlow Medal): Awarded to Marty Giles
Life Membership – Awarded to Ian Winning who has been a member for more than 10 years and has held a range of Management Committee and Club Officer positions over that time

A number of members received awards for patrolling over 100 hours including:

  • Olivia Keech – 106.27 hours
  • Jasmine Dooley – 105.75 hours
  • Ian Winning – 104 hours
  • Sophie Bond – 102.5 hours
  • Andrea Berthelsen – 102.25 hours

A number of members were also awarded SLSA Service awards.

5 years service awards:

  • Jasmine Dooley
  • Fiona Macaulay
  • David Grey
  • Ashleigh Powell
  • Laurie Stephenson
  • Aedan Leslie
  • Katie Stephenson
  • Sally Watson
  • Andrea Berthelsen

10 years service awards:

  • Samuel Bull
  • Brenton Wilson
  • Ian Winning

15 year service awards:

  • Marie Harvey

30 years service awards:

  • Scott Collins
  • Kristine Holden
  • David Merefield

35 years service award:

  • Craig Holden

For more information on the Elliott Heads SLSC, you can visit the website.

Other stories: Shorter winter closure for popular heated pool