HomeLifestyleLibrariesAustralian author Mary-Lou Stephens visiting library

Australian author Mary-Lou Stephens visiting library

australian author mary-lou
Australian author Mary-Lou Stephens will be visiting the Bundaberg Library for an author talk.

Australian author Mary-Lou Stephens will be visiting the Bundaberg Library to talk about her debut novel The Last of the Apple Blossom next Monday.

The in-person author visit will see Mary-Lou discuss her inspirations for writing as well as her journey to mainstream publication.

The novel, The Last of the Apple Blossom, is set in Tasmania amidst a devastating fire disaster that transforms a community.

Council’s Arts, Culture and Events portfolio spokesperson Cr John Learmonth said the author talk would be a great opportunity to meet with a talented writer and like-minded readers.

“I have attended a number of author talks at the library and would encourage those who love reading to take part in this event,” Cr Learmonth said.

australian author mary-lou
Australian author Mary-Lou Stephens debut novel, The Last of the Apple Blossom.

“Talks like these provide a greater understanding of how authors come to produce their novels and provide an interesting insight into their thoughts behind the scenes.”

The Last of the Apple Blossom is referred to as ‘a sweeping, big-hearted Australian family saga for readers of Judy Nunn and Victoria Purman’.

Doors to the event will open from 5.30 pm with light refreshments to be provided.

The author talk will commence at 6 pm.

You can register for the event here or find out more about the novel here.

Mary-Lou Stephens was born in Tasmania, studied acting at The Victorian College of the Arts and played in bands in Melbourne, Hobart and Sydney.

She then worked in radio before writing her memoir Sex, Drugs and Meditation (Pan Macmillan, 2013), the true story of how meditation changed her life, saved her job and helped her find a husband.

Event details:
What: In person author talk with Mary-Lou Stephens
Where: Bundaberg Library
When: Monday, 29 November
Time: Doors open at 5.30 pm for light refreshments with the talk commencing at 6 pm.

Other stories: Drought Resilience, Relief and Recovery Forum on soon

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Lifestyle news

Footprints on Country world premiere at Moncrieff

Community members will have the chance to be immersed in Indigenous culture at the world premiere of Footprints on Country at the Moncrieff Entertainment Centre.

Plenty of hand-crafted goods at Twilight Market

The community gathered at BRAG park on Friday afternoon to pick up a hand-made Christmas gift at the Twilight Market.

Shorebirds a vital part of region’s coastal ecosystem

Migratory shorebirds travel thousands of kilometres non-stop to rest on the Bundaberg Region coastline and BMRG says it's vital they're not disturbed.

Impressive footage of Globemaster touch-and-go

Aircraft enthusiast Hayden Alexander has captured amazing footage of a Boeing C-17A Globemaster III as it flew close to shops and homes in Bundaberg.

Ghostly tales from the Bundaberg Regional Art Gallery

If its walls could talk the Bundaberg Regional Art Gallery would have plenty of stories to tell from its previous lives as Customs House, a bank and a library. Former staff have shared stories about the historic building’s quirks and some spooky encounters.

Connect

30,657FansLike
4,005FollowersFollow
200FollowersFollow
61SubscribersSubscribe
>