HomeSportMitchell Waters heads Bundaberg Cricket honours list

Mitchell Waters heads Bundaberg Cricket honours list

Bundaberg Cricket honours
Mitchell Waters received the Tallon Medal for Bundaberg Division 1 Best and Fairest from Mrs Cathy Parker.

Waves pace spearhead Mitchell Waters received some consolation for their loss to Norths in the Bundaberg Cricket Rum City Foods Division 1 Premiership Grand Final when he took out the prestigious Tallon Medal for the Division 1 Best and Fairest.

Mitchell polled 14 votes to be a four-point winner from the fast-finishing Norths’ all-rounder Shannon Smith, with a further two points to joint-third placegetters Norths veteran spinner Bruce Worthington and Waves, Bundaberg and Wide Bay captain and all-rounder Chris Duff.

Mitchell received the Medal from the late Don Tallon’s daughter Cathy Parker, plus $1,000 prizemoney.

Waves also dominated the Division 1 Batting and Bowling Awards, with Ryan Norton taking out the Batting Aggregate and Average with 292 at 48.67 and Chris Duff topping the Bowling list with 31, but Norths’ Nathan Van Eekeren picking up the Bowling Aggregate with a frugal 10.7.

Nathan was also crowned as the BCA Representative Player of the Year, with Isis young gun Jackson Rehbein, who played for Brothers in Divisions 1 and 2, taking out the Rookie of the Year.

Nathan also had an outstanding finals series, scoring a century, along with fellow South Queensland Country representative and opener Brendan Handley in their surprise semi-final victory over East Bundy Magpies, and 55 in their grand final ambush of minor premiers Waves, who had beaten them in last year’s decider.

But he was beaten for the Player of the Grand Final by Brendan, who was a match winner with a superb 85, as well as setting the standard with a flawless display as wicketkeeper.

Brothers’ Mitchell Parsons edged out Norths veteran Richie Sharman for the Division 2 Player of the Year, and he also won the Batting Aggregate with 382.

But Waves captain Mat Fleming received the Batting Average Trophy for the Division with 174 after being dismissed just once, and his team-mate Vince Differ snared the Bowling Average with 10, and Norths Club secretary and spinner Michael Penny made the Bowling Aggregate his own with 16.

Brett Woodward, of YMCA, who scored a superb maiden century in their Division 3 Grand Final loss to Norths, was a clear winner of the Player of the Year award for the division, and he also collected the Batting Aggregate and Average with 321 at 107.

But Isis stalwart Martyn Ryan, who was outstanding in their disappointing season, grabbed the Bowling double with 20 scalps at 9.3 apiece.

Waves were against runaway winners of the Senior Club Championship, while YMCA club president and tireless association worker Brett Muller was a popular winner of the BCA Service to Cricket gong.

Waves’ Kori Pope capped a sensational season by taking out the Don Tallon Award for Bundaberg Under-16 Club Player of the Year.

Bundaberg Cricket honours
Kori Pope took home the Don Tallon Award for Bundaberg Under-16 Club Player of the Year

Lachlan Heycox, of YMCA, was acknowledged as the Bundaberg U16 Representative Player of the Year and he also shared the Laurie Gear Memorial Award for Highest Representative Honours with Waves’ Lucy Hamilton, who made her debut for the Queensland Fire team at the age of just 15 in the Women’s National League.

Another outstanding young Waves talent Tahj Coates took out the Junior Cricket 3 Under-14 Club and Representative Player of the Year double, while YMCA’s Archie Webster was the Junior Cricket 2 Club Player of the Year and joint-winner of the JC2 Representative Player of the Year with Norths’ Beau Donnison.

Tahj’s awards completed the trifecta after he was also Player of the Final as they edged out North Bundy Power.

Brothers Cricket Club President Anthony Rehbein and Lachlan Heycox’s mother Kyle, the association’s tireless Facebook and Child Protection Officer who also great service in many other ways, were joint-winners of the Bob Keir Memorial Service to Junior Cricket Trophy.

Bundaberg Cricket honours
Division 2 premiers Waves – (back) Noel Stitt, Damian Black, Kyle Stallan, Liam Heads, Jack Munro, Ryan Maclean, Vince Differ, Sean Stuchbery; (front) Brendan Prossliner, Brody Coates, Sam Stuchbery, Tahj Coates, Mat Fleming ©.

Bundaberg Cricket Awards:

  • Senior Club Championship – Waves
  • Rookie of the Year – Jackson Rehbein
  • Rep Player of the Year – Nathan Van Eekeren
  • BCA Service to Cricket – Brett Muller

Division 1 – Tallon Medal for Best & Fairest: 1 Mitchell Waters 14 points, 2 Shannon Smith 10, 3 Bruce Worthington & Chris Duff 8. Batting aggregate: Ryan Norton 292, Batting Average: Ryan Norton 48.67, Bowling Aggregate: Chris Duff 31, Bowling Average: Nathan Van Eekeren 10.7

Division 2 – Player of Year: 1 Mitchell Parsons 10, 2 Richie Sharman 9, 3 Vince Differ 7, Sean Stuchbery 7, David Boge 7, Dustin Collin 7, Kynan Hard 7. Batting aggregate: Mitchell Parsons 382, Batting Average: Mat Fleming 174, Bowling Aggregate: Michael Penny 16, Bowling Average: Vince Differ 10

Division 3 – Player of Year: Brett Woodward 12, 2 Will Barritt 9, 3 Shaun Pinney 7. Batting aggregate: Brett Woodward 321, Batting Average: Brett Woodward 107, Bowling Aggregate: Martyn Ryan 20, Bowling Average: Martyn Ryan 9.3

Junior Special Awards – Club Player of the Year (based on 3,2,1 votes) – JC316s Don Tallon Award – Kori Pope; JC3 14s – Tahj Coates; JC2 – Archie Webster.

Bundaberg Rep Player of the Year (selected by Coaches & Managers) – JC3 16s – Lachlan Heycox; JC3 14s – Tahj Coates; JC2 – Beau Donnison & Archie Webster

Laurie Gear Memorial Award – (highest representative honours): Lucy Hamilton & Lachlan Heycox

Bob Keir Award (Service to Junior Cricket) – Anthony Rehbein & Kylie Heycox.

More sport news: May Day Carnival a passion for Mike McLellan