HomeCommunityBrian Prince Awards celebrates ten years

Brian Prince Awards celebrates ten years

The proud recipients of this year's Brian Prince Awards for excellence in Emergency Services.

Bundaberg’s local heroes were celebrated on Saturday night at the 10th Annual Brian Prince Awards.

Named in honour of the late Brian Prince who was a dedicated and much loved local paramedic, the awards celebrate excellence in Emergency Services and serve as a thank you to dedicated frontline personnel.

The evening was organised and hosted by Bundaberg Central Rotary and took place at the Waves Sports Club where guests were treated to dinner and live entertainment from Smooth Velvet.

Awards organiser and Rotarian Brant Duff said after recent tragic events in emergency services, it was fitting that they celebrated frontline workers that evening.

“The last six months, starting with the siege in Western Queensland, the stabbing recently of the police and the death of the firefighter in Brisbane, highlight the dangers that our frontline workers face every day,” he said.

Brant said the evening was a great success with over 110 people attending and worthy recipients from Police, Ambulance, Fire and Emergency Services, Queensland Health Emergency Department, State Emergency Services, Volunteer Marine Rescue and Rural Fire Services all strongly represented. 

He said a highlight was hearing from local critical care doctor Chris McMullen who spoke to guests about LifeFlight Bundaberg where he serves as Clinical Lead.

“It’s always a highlight to hear from the recipients about why they do what they do,” Brant said.

 “The recipients, although not Rotarians, display one of our core beliefs, to offer service above self.

“They do what many of us can’t, not for money or glory but through a sense of duty to protect and serve.”

2023 Brian Prince Award Winners:

• Queensland Ambulance Service Award: Advanced Care Paramedic Rebecca Harvey

• Queensland Police Service Award: Detective Senior Constable Darlene Webb

• Queensland Fire and Emergency Service Award: Captain Eric Dyke

• Bundaberg Hospital Emergency Department Award: Dr Chris McMullen

• Volunteer of the Year winner: Kieren Galey (SES)

• Volunteer of the Year finalists: Tony Van Wijk (VMR) & Darren Nelson (Rural Fire Service)

• ABC Wide Bay Media Award: Glenn Cameron (QLD Police)