HomeSportLankowski, Laycock named Tallon Medal winners

Lankowski, Laycock named Tallon Medal winners

Tallon Medal
Jarrod Laycock and Arden Lankowski received the awards as the joint Tallon Medal winners for the Bundaberg Intra Cup from Cathy Parker, daughter of the late Don Tallon. Arden also took out the Rep Player of the Year gong.

Arden Lankowski of East Bundy Magpies and Jarrod Laycock of Brothers were the biggest winners at the Bundaberg Cricket Association 2020-21 Senior Awards Night on Friday.

The pair were named joint winners of the Tallon Medal for the Rum City Foods Intra Cup Best and Fairest.

Presented on the basis of 3, 2 and 1 points allocated over the course of each team’s 12 fixtures games in the competition, the duo each polled 10 points to finish two ahead of third placegetter Mitch Waters, of Waves.

Arden, who was chosen in the Queensland Country team in November but unfortunately did not get to compete in the Nationals as they were cancelled, also took out the Representative Player of the Year and Intra Cup Bowling Average with 22 wickets at 10.27 apiece.

Jarrod, 35, who has been a star in top grade since making his debut at the age of 16 has polled significant points every season he has played without previously challenging for Bundaberg Cricket’s highest individual honour.

He also took out the Intra Cup Batting Aggregate and Average awards with 580 at an average of 58, while his Brothers team-mate Andy Porter capped a breakthrough season by snaring the Bowling Aggregate trophy with 23.

Shaun Pinney, of Norths, was a big winner of the Division 2 Player of the Year, chalking up 15 points, six clear of joint runners-up, Waves team-mates Mat Fleming and Vince Differ.

The attacking all-rounder also took the Bowling Aggregate with 30, but the remaining three statistical awards for the division were won by Magpies players, David Bonser (Batting Aggregate 352), Troy Cross (Batting Average 43) and Ashley Pollitt (Bowling Average 10.7).

It was the third year in a row that Shaun had won the same two trophies, after snaring 24 scalps last season and 33 in 2018/19, when playing for his previous club Isis.

There were also joint Players of the Year in Division 3, with Isis all-rounder Adrian Goddard and Magpies batting spearhead Eric Petersen, both polling 13 votes, two more than third placegetter, Waves’ Daniel Unwin.

Adrian and Eric also picked up the Bowling Aggregate and Batting Average awards with 21 wickets and 60.5 respectively, while Daniel took the Batting Aggregate with 580, and his team-mate Josh Wormington had the Best Bowling Average in the grade with 10.37.

Brothers’ Dylan Heycox joined some distinguished company when he was handed the Ray Haylock Trophy for Most Outstanding Young Player, while Jason Shears was a thoroughly deserved Service to Cricket Award recipient, and Waves regained the Club Championship Shield after winning the Intra Cup and Divisions 2 and 3 minor premierships.

Tallon Medal
Dylan Heycox received the award for Most Outstanding Young Player in the Intra Cup from BCA Patron Ray Haylock.

Shaun a key player in North's grand final win

Leading from the front, captain Shaun Pinney also played a key role in Norths’ grand final victory over Waves after they had only secured a finals berth with a last-round win over Brothers after they had defeated Tallon/Giles Cup winners Magpies in the semi-final.

He claimed 2-25 from his eight overs, including danger man Sean Stuchbery for 17, as Waves managed just 9-151 from their 40 overs, with pace spearhead Harley Denton removing their other batting trumps Damian Black and Matt Fleming, in his 3-19.

Shaun also scored 21, but Norths were in trouble at 5-111, until John Balaam and under-16 Ned Jenner combined in an unbroken partnership of 41, with the former taking out the Man of the Match with 60 from 62 balls, and the latter providing excellent support with his 20.

For Norths, who lost the T20 final to Brothers in October, it was their first Division 2 premiership since completing back-to-back titles in 2017.

Tallon Medal
Norths – Division 2 premiers (back) Sumesh Jose, John Van Lierop, Harley Denton, Richie Sharman, Craig Miller, Shaun Pinney ©, Dan Hunt; (front) Ned Jenner, Craig Fritz, Mick Penny, John Balaam and Damian O’Neall.

Isis also came from third position in Division 3, ambushing Magpies in the semi-finals, then also shocking T20 and Tallon/Giles Cup champions and runaway minor premiers Waves in the decider, compiling a moderate 7-187, then restricting the hot shots to 9-181.

Every Isis batsman made a start, but no-one was able to go on with the job, with opener Adam McCoombe top scoring with 43, Jackson Rehbein next best with 31, and captain Adrian Goddard falling for 30.

What looked like a regulation run chase for the power packed Waves became tricked when they stumbled to 4-78 with newly crowned BCA Don Tallon Under-16 Player of the Year Jackson Rehbein prising out captain Robert Bailey-Rasmussen after having earlier removed another danger man opener Mitch Wormington.

Mitch’s younger brothers Josh came in and belted 52 from 28 balls, but when he was caught by Jackson’s father and club stalwart wicket-keeper Scott off paceman Josh Manitzky, it triggered another collapse of 5-26, with Josh Manitzky striking again three balls later, Ryan Maclean run out as panic set in, then Jackson’s 14-year-old brother and spinner Cooper also making a double-breakthrough.

Brock Catasti and Jack Kleidon did everything in their power to pull the game out of the fire, with the former finishing on 44 in an unbroken 10th wicket stand of 36, but Jackson held his nerve, delivering the last over, and leaving Waves stranded six runs short.

Despite Isis’ robust team performance and famous victory, Josh Wormington picked up the Man of the Match award in a beaten side.

BCA Awards – Intra Cup – Batting Aggregate Jarrod Laycock 580, Batting Average Jarrod Laycock 580runs @ 58, Bowling Aggregate Andy Porter 23 wickets, Bowling Average Arden Lankowski 22 wickets @ 10.27.

Division 2 – Batting Aggregate David Bonser 352 runs, Batting Average Troy Cross 258 runs @ 43, Bowling Aggregate Shaun Pinney 30 wickets, Bowling Average Ashley Pollitt 24wickets @ 10.7.

Division 3 – Batting Aggregate Daniel Unwin 506 runs, Batting Average Eric Petersen 363 runs @60.5, Bowling Aggregate Adrian Goddard 21 wickets, Bowling Average Josh Wormington 19 wickets @ 10.37.

Major awards: Rep Player of the Year – Arden Lankowski, Ray Haylock Trophy for Most Outstanding Young Player – Dylan Heycox, Service to Cricket – Jason Shears, Club Championship – Waves.

Don Tallon Medal Winners – Jarrod Laycock & Arden Lankowski

Division 2 Player of the Year – Shaun Pinney

Division 3 Player of the Year – Adrian Goddard & Eric Petersen

Other sport stories: Eagles claw their way to women's AFL win