HomeSportBundy Outdoors win Social Touch A1 title again

Bundy Outdoors win Social Touch A1 title again

Bundy Outdoors social touch mixed
The Brothers Social Touch Mixed Division A1 grand final winning team, Bundy Outdoors.

Dynamic all-rounder Luke Turnbull was a match winner with three tries as Bundy Outdoors notched their fourth straight Brothers Social Touch Mixed Division A1 title, edging out Weekenders 4-3 in a pulsating end-to-end duel.

Lilly Puusaari was the first to score in the match, opening their account, but from there it was the Luke Turnbull show, although Weekenders pushed them all the way, with Brothers A Grade Rugby League multiple premiership star Tyla Hodge among their scorers, along with his younger brother Flynn.

Luke has scored in all of their four premiership triumphs in a row, twice in both of their deciders in 2022, and once in their Winter Final in June.

Last season’s beaten Mixed D1 grand finalists, Hitz FM, qualified for the Mixed A2 finale this time, and they claimed that title, defeating Team Location 3-2 in an epic duel which went to extra-time, before Hitz broke the deadlock.

No Names, who drew last season’s Mixed Division D decider with Nutz and Jugs, who were awarded that premiership as the first scorer, went one better in Mixed B1 this time, with Billy Sarnadsky bagging a double to lead them home against Touchen Ain’t Cheatin 4-2.

Nutz and Jugs advanced to the Mixed B2 play-off, but the boot was on the other foot this time as Solar Gain were declared the premiers as the first scorer when a 1-all deadlock could not be broken in extra-time.

Solar Gain had been beaten in last season’s Mixed Division E showdown.

Low Expectations superseded their goals in Mixed B3, outgunning Old n New 3-1.

Stalwarts McHugh Steel chalked up their second premiership for 2023 and added to their long honours list over many years, trumping Ace 2-1 in Over 35 Division A after prevailing by the same score-line against LLE in Over 35 Division B five months earlier.

Hitz FM mixed social touch social touch Bundy Outdoors
A2 Division winners Hitz FM.

LLE picked up the Over 35 Division B crown this time, as the first scorer after their battle royale with fellow Foundation side Chesshire Machinery ended in a 1-all draw, even after extra-time.

Grand Final Scores

Mixed A1: Bundy Outdoors 4 (Luke Turnbull 3, Lilly Puusaari) d Weekenders 3 (Locky Morgan, Flynn Hodge, Tyla Hodge).

Mixed A2: Hitz FM 3 (Quinton Graham, Alyssa Riddell, Jess Richards) d Team Location 2 (Ryan Sharpe, Chris Gray).

Mixed B1: No Names 4 (Billy Sarnadsky 2, William Guest, Jackson Ramsay) d Touchen Ain’t Cheatin 2 (Tyler Walden, Bailey Knapp).

Mixed B2: Solar Gain 1 (Sven O’Brien) drew Nutz n Jugs 1 (Andy Alston) – Solar Gain declared premiers as first scorer.

Mixed B3: Low Expectations 3 (Ben Tewes, Bella Johnson, Ryan Schiffke) d Old n New 1 (Zach Hansen).

Over 35A: McHugh Steel 2 (Brendan Gray, Jomar Gustilo) d Ace 1 (Neil Reinke).

Over 35B: LLE 1 (Justin Gorrie) drew Cheshire Machinery 1 (Shaun Warmington) – LLE declared premiers as first scorer.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here